Undergraduate Program

Civil engineers oversee the design and construction of facilities for society's use. Working with problems that directly affect the health and economic vitality of people and communities, civil engineers contribute their expertise to problems such as waste disposal, environmental pollution, transportation systems design, water resource development, and the design, construction, and rehabilitation of constructed facilities.

The undergraduate degree program prepares students for a wide variety of career options in several fields of study.

Programs and Advising

Programs Offered

Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering

Civil engineering embraces a wide variety of technological areas. These include environmental engineering, hydrotechnical engineering, geotechnical engineering, transportation engineering, and structural engineering.

Logo for the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET

The Bachelors of Science degree in Civil Engineering is accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET, www.abet.org.

Dual Civil and Mining Engineering Degrees

Students can simultaneously pursue B.S. degrees in civil engineering and mining engineering by completing additional courses. The dual degrees offer students an opportunity to become prepared for entry in both the infrastructure and energy markets. The dual degree program requires satisfactory completion of 158 credit hours.

Fields of Study

Environmental and Geotechnical Engineering

Student will learn how to protect society from the damaging effects of environmental contaminants, erosion, earthquakes, and soil settling. Includes solid and hazardous waste management, environmental impact statements, and remediation and design of foundations, roadways, and airport runways.

Hydrotechnical Engineering

This field teaches students how to design, construct, and manage facilities that provide water for our communities, including dams, reservoirs, flood control systems, coastal harbors, and irrigation systems.

Structural Engineering

In this field, students will learn how to design, construct, maintain, and rehabilitate society's many structures, including buildings, harbors, and bridges, using construction materials such as concrete, steel, wood, and composites.

Transportation Systems Engineering

Students in this field will focus on the design, construction, and management of all aspects of transportation systems. These include highway construction, traffic control, airports, mass transit systems, railroads, inland waterways, and urban rapid transit systems.

Curriculum

Advisors

Karl Barth
karl.barth@mail.wvu.edu
ESB 617
304.293.9921

Roger Chen
roger.chen@mail.wvu.edu
ESB 651B
304.293.9925

Fei Dai
fei.dai@mail.wvu.edu
ESB 635
304.293.9940

Udaya Halabe
udaya.halabe@mail.wvu.edu
ESB 613
304.293.9934

Leslie Hopkinson
Leslie.Hopkinson@mail.wvu.edu
ESB 649
304.293.9932

Hota GangaRao
hota.gangarao@mail.wvu.edu
ESB 653
304.293.9986

Lian-Shin Lin
Lianshin.Lin@mail.wvu.edu
ESB 651A
304.293.9935

David Martinelli
david.martinelli@mail.wvu.edu
ESB 525
304.293.9936

John Quaranta
John.Quaranta@mail.wvu.edu
ESB 645
304.293.9942

Hema Siriwardane
hema.siriwardane@mail.wvu.edu
ESB 637
304.293.9946

John Zaniewski
john.zaniewski@mail.wvu.edu
ESB 651C
304.293.9955

Admission Requirements

View admission requirements here

Scholarships

Statler College Scholarships

Undergraduate Scholarship Office